My reason for blogging has altered recently. Working in an outstanding department has clarified for me just how much work I need to do to improve as a practioner. I have an unfortunate habit of talking too much, in the department I’m currently working in however I really do work very hard to shut up: simply because when I do I learn a shed load from them. That leaves a blog as a good place to pull all these thoughts together and get feedback on my current thinking.

I initially started blogging to try to narrow down some eternal truths on teaching- all based on the anecdotal. Recently, I’ve started to think that unless I’m grounding my thinking in research and these more experienced voices, that I am essentially wasting my time. I try always to make my time purposeful and so blogging about research seems to me a way of sharpening up my practice rapidly. It would however mean focusing much more on reading and working that into my routine. One solution to this may be to respond to the blogs of others, particularly those who work primarily in research, blogging and writing education books.

Another thing I am reconsidering at the moment is the amount I censor myself, I am often very concerned about seeming naïve, or completely wrong. A great deal of what I write ends up sitting in ‘drafts’ for a long time. I was recently told that a particularly influential blogger simply writes and censors afterwards by writing about the same topic at a later point. His attitude, I’m told, is ‘if I only blogged about the things I was certain about I would never blog.’ This seems logical.

I had intended for this to be a completely anonymous blog, something which I’ve had to grow to accept is pretty unlikely. It’s not that I would particularly like to moan about any of the schools I spend my time in, if I were unhappy about something in school I would discuss it appropriately and not hide behind a computer screen, my concern is more that I would embarrass myself with the naivety of my views. Anonymity allows growth without that concern. A reader of a blog could place a comment on the view and be none the wiser as to whether I was new to the profession or incredibly experienced. My whole purpose for blogging is to improve, I have doubts as to whether what I write will advance anyone else’s thinking- particularly given that initially I had centred it purely on the anecdotal. I seriously doubt that any of my colleagues would ever read, or be upset by what I write, but to be thought of as idiotic is a concern.

In the near future I intend to improve my blogging by starting outward from others blogs, edu-books and research. I want to stick to relatively serious topics, and shift away from the trivial and anecdotal. My anonymity is only marginally compromised and, apart from anything, I literally have nothing bad to say about my place of work: which is the only reason I can imagine one would get in trouble for writing semi-anonymous drivel.

I also would like to blog more frequently and so have set myself the target if weekly blogs this term. Some if which will be based on the aforementioned ‘drafts’ and trivial. Over Easter I read five books, three with an education focus, I will probably try to blog about these. However, don’t be surprised to see a blog of the ‘What I learnt from Zlatan’ variety. Apologies in advance!

